Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

SPAM or Not?

I got this email today. It was supposedly sent to a guy named Helmut whose email is diego@frontiernet.net. My email is dierker@frontiernet.net. Sometimes the mail server will send something to the closest address so it's hard to tell if it's deliberate SPAM or not. One thing I did notice though is she signs the email as Maria B and the profile link takes you to a Marina B.

She say's I hope you will not run when you see my picture. Run? How about if I change my name to Helmut and move to the Ukraine?...kidding

"Hello !

I think we had correspondence a long time ago if it was not you I am sorry.
If it was I could not answer you because my Mozilla mail manager was down for a
long time and I could not fix it only with my friend's help I got the emails
address out for me ..:)
I hope it was whom we were corresponded with you are still interested, as I am,
though I realize much time has passed since then...
I really don't know where to start ....
Maybe you could tell me a little about yourself since I lost our early letters,
your appearance,age , hobbies, and are you still in the search?
If it was you I wrote to and you are interested to get to know me better, I have
a profile at :

Don't really know what else to say for now I hope this is the right address

Let me know if you are interested, And I hope
you won't run when you see my picture

see you later

Maria B."



( 15 comments — Leave a comment )
(Deleted comment)
Apr. 20th, 2005 09:18 pm (UTC)
I did but there appears to be no such address.

Apr. 21st, 2005 12:17 am (UTC)
Maybe you can respond using an email address you don't care for and inform this woman of the error.
Apr. 21st, 2005 02:28 pm (UTC)
I did, we'll see what happens.

Apr. 21st, 2005 02:29 pm (UTC)
Mail was returned :User Unknown

Apr. 21st, 2005 01:22 am (UTC)
It would be nice I guess if true, but probably just a way for nice Ukranian girl to get to US on someone else's dime. Or maybe she has a webcam or the Russian equivalent of a 900 number.

Apr. 21st, 2005 02:12 pm (UTC)
If you go to the site:


it has all these places you can buy the "ladies" gifts, send them money and etc. I'd say it was a scam but who knows.

Apr. 21st, 2005 01:23 am (UTC)
Well, gosh, she was nice enough to write to you, why don't you buy her some gifts? There's a handy link on her profile site so you can do that right away!!!
Apr. 21st, 2005 02:13 pm (UTC)
I saw that. Also notice the actual URL for the main site is:


Apr. 21st, 2005 01:53 am (UTC)
Ok I got a solution. Send this reply:

"Miss I'm sorry but you've gotten the wrong e-mail address by mistake. However if you will send this message to Ben at bigdaddycool28086@yahoo.com he'd be more than happy to get to know you and even offer you the chance to move to America and be his bride."

There ya go man, problem solved.


Apr. 21st, 2005 02:17 pm (UTC)
Done. Expect some mail.

Apr. 23rd, 2005 01:33 am (UTC)
Oh yeah I got it. I'm now apparantly married in some country I can't even pronounce. Yup, shoulda put a just kidding tag on that last post. Yup, gotta think things through a little better from now on lol.


Apr. 23rd, 2005 01:38 am (UTC)
Glad I could improve your social life!


Apr. 21st, 2005 03:26 am (UTC)
can you say...
Apr. 21st, 2005 02:18 pm (UTC)
Re: can you say...
Yes we can, at least it was a break from the flood of Viagra and Cialis SPAM I get. If they did their homework they could have gotten my email addy very easily and dropped the whole pretense.

( 15 comments — Leave a comment )